Happy Birthday, Will!

20130423-180905.jpg

Today is Shakespeare’s 449th birthday! In commemoration, I would like to tell you why I love Shakespeare. Shakespeare reminds me of the fundamental realities of what it means to be human in the most beautiful language. He challenges me to dig deep and find meaning in every word. He shows me that life is never one directional. Tragedies can make us laugh until it hurts and then cry with absolute empathy while comedies can slide from hilarity to discomfort and pity all on their own. I’ve never read a Shakespearean play and not been moved. In fact, Shakespeare is a big reason why I studied English so extensively in the first place. So, thanks, Will, and happy birthday!

http://birthday2013.bloggingshakespeare.com/

Leave a Reply

